Her Butterfly

Her Butterfly

My Grandmother. She recently passed away.  She’d eat onions and tomatoes from the garden like apples.  She let me pick the flowers she grew and she loved butterflies and moths. They’d land on her like they’d land on me as a small child.  She was otherworldly creative. A creative force for the inner child.  She liked color but said her favorite color was black because it matches everything.  She could do anything at all. 

My grandmother is a person I never doubted loved me. She taught me that I can do anything.  She taught me to drink a glass of water with meals for digestion and that when I comb my hair, start at the bottom and work my way up. My grandmother never messed around when it came to me. She was fiercely protective and concerned for my happiness and wellbeing.

She’d greet me with, “Hey kid.”

When she passed, she came to me the day after saying the same, “Hey kid.” I burst into tears for the first time since hearing she’d died. It had been decades since I heard her say that to me.  She told me she is so proud of the work I’ve been doing to heal myself and that on her side of things, in the spirit realm, it’s healed much further than I can see and she showed me this green light going beyond my comprehension back in our lines and spread out in beautiful tendrils of healing across our web of wyrd. 

She told me I am who she’d wanted to be and that meant so much to me after having experienced rejection and being ostracized most of my life.  In her death I gained the ancestor’s I’ve needed for spiritual protection and support.  My grandmother’s life’s work was our ancestorial lines and here she came to me offering the keys to help me no longer have to go at it alone. I didn’t realize the lack of connection I held to my ancestors until experiencing them re-connected to me through her. 

I had been operating with only one wing until she gifted me a full set of wings.  I am my grandmother’s granddaughter and she taught me everything of importance comes from creative means and proclivity to dream.  She made sure that I was loved when a child and now she makes sure I have all my spiritual dowry available to me.  I am who she wished to be- and I honor her in who I am.    

By Raven

Leave a comment

I’m Raven

Welcome to Open The Violet Door, my small corner of the internet where I share my story and experiences, with a concentration on heart-centeredness and soul healing.

Let’s connect